Sean Cronan Portfolio by Adam Sullivan

Ver o tópico anterior Ver o tópico seguinte Ir em baixo

Sean Cronan Portfolio by Adam Sullivan

Mensagem  dgkallday em Qui Nov 19, 2009 4:12 pm

If you’ve picked up a skateboarding magazine in the last couple decades, chances are you’ve seen his work. And if you’re a fan of Foundation, Toy Machine, Zoo York, and pretty much every East Coast skater, chances are you’ve fanned out on his work. He’s been instrumental in giving East Coast skateboarding its hardworking, gritty, and genuine reputation, and these days he’s capturing that vibe for Zoo York. Everyone, meet my friend Sean Cronan.

How'd you get your start in photography?

Messing around with my dad’s camera a million years ago. I just started shooting photos of my friends skating, and riding bikes, and going to hardcore shows. I did a zine for most of high school.

What were some of the bands you shot?

Pretty much all the late 80's, early 90's hardcore bands. Youth of Today, Bad Brains, Supertouch, Absolution, Burn, Up Front, Gorilla Biscuits , Wide Awake, Fugazi , Strife, Jawbreaker , Endpoint, Split Lip , the list goes on and on.

How did you end up shooting skating?

My first magazine photo was a Black Label ad for my buddy Tim Upson. He had just turned pro, and he needed to shoot an ad, and I had a camera, and that was it. Back tail on a jersey barrier at night in the snow in January. The trick was great. The photo is terrible. Somehow it got run, and I've had stuff run ever since

What’s your favorite kind of skating to shoot?

All of it.

You’ve lived on the East Coast for most of your life, but you did spend a few years in California. What are some of the major differences between the two places, from a photographer's perspective?